Nine Named State Scholars


Andy Bryant

Illinois State Scholars are (front) Jaci South, Alyssa Place, Jessica Handel and Ashtyn Jany; (middle) Destiny Williams, Lauryn Vasquez and Adeline Blechle; and (back) Zack Houghlan and Amira Al-Jassim.

Nine Chester High School students have been named Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.

Selected from the Chester High School Class of 2020 were Amira Al-Jassim, Adeline Blechle, Jessica Handel, Zack Houghlan, Ashtyn Jany, Alyssa Place, Jaci South, Lauryn Vasquez and Destiny Williams.
The State Scholar Program recognizes students attending approved high schools for outstanding academic achievement. State scholar designation provides honorary recognition with no monetary award. Approximately the top ten percent of graduates from approved high schools are announced as State Scholars each year.