Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Pulls Off Upset Daytona 500 Win


Noah Wetzel, Sting Reporter

This year’s Daytona 500 is now over, and we have a winner. In a double overtime finish, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr, driver of the #47 Kroger/Cottonelle Chevrolet, held off Joey Logano on the last lap to win the Daytona 500. On the last lap in turn 1, a large crash was triggered by Aric Almirola and Travis Pastrana, which brought out the caution. At the time of caution, Stenhouse had just retaken the lead from Logano. When the caution came out, Stenhouse was maybe 4-6 feet ahead. Stenhouse brought it back around to win under caution. He snapped a 199-race winless streak dating back to the 2017 Coke Zero 400 at Daytona.
For JTG Daugherty Racing, it’s just their 2nd win in the Cup Series, and their first since 2014 at Watkins Glen. JTG Daugherty Racing is co-owned by former NBA star Brad Daugherty, who has become the first African-American car owner to win the Daytona 500. JTG Daugherty Racing is not a super large team. They have a lot less resources than other teams, and they usually run around 17th-20th. Last season, Stenhouse and the team had an awful season. They finished a lowly 26th in the points standings, the lowest for the 47 team since 2019.
This was also the longest Daytona 500 in history in terms of length. Due to multiple overtime attempts, the race ran for 212 laps, or 530 miles. Only 23 of the 40 cars finished the race. Stuntman and BMX rider Travis Pastrana impressed the fans in his first Daytona 500. Even though Pastrana was involved in the last lap accident, he didn’t get too much damage and was able to cross the finish line in 11th place. Riley Herbst pulled off an impressive 10th place finish in just his first Cup Series race ever.

Race Results
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Joey Logano
Christopher Bell
Chris Buescher
Alex Bowman
A.J. Allmendinger
Daniel Suarez
Ryan Blaney
Ross Chastain
Riley Herbst
Travis Pastrana
Kevin Harvick
Zane Smith
Cody Ware
Martin Truex Jr.
Corey LaJoie
Denny Hamlin
Kyle Larson
Kyle Busch
Bubba Wallace
Aric Almirola
Brad Keselowski
Austin Cindric
Noah Gragson
Ty Gibbs
Harrison Burton
Todd Gilliland
Michael McDowell
Conor Daly
B.J. McLeod
Jimmie Johnson
Justin Haley
Austin Dillon
William Byron
Chase Briscoe
Ryan Preece
Erik Jones
Chase Elliott
Tyler Reddick
Ty Dillon